New AOCS Officers for 1969-70 Announced

Announcement and installation of new officers was made at the 60th Annual AOCS Meeting, which was held in San Francisco April 20-24, 1969. Ballot counting was

G. C. Cavanagh

held at the AOCS National Headquarters in Chicago on March 31st. Of the 1418 ballots which were received, 1402 were validated and counted. The results of the election are as follows.

J. C. Cowan, outgoing President, presented the ceremonial gavel to incoming President, G. C. Cavanagh. The gavel is an authentic Indian tomahawk, presented to the Society by H. B. Battle, 14th President in New Orleans on May 6, 1924. It is over 250 years old and is a fascinating historical, as well as decorative item. It

is a fitting commemorative to the first American Oil Chemists, the Indians, who used instruments similar to it in order to crush the nuts from which the oil was produced.

in order to crush the nuts from which the oil was produced.

G. C. Cavanagh ('46) has been elected President for 1969-70. He is Chief Chemist and Research Director of the Ranchers Cotton Oil Company, Fresno, California. He has devoted many years of service to the American Oil Chemists' Society, having served on the Membership Committee, Analysis of Chemists' Fats and Oils Committee, the Subcommittee of Determination of Soap in Oils, the Technical Safety Committee and the Subcommittee on Solvent Extraction. He is a Charter Member of the Northern California Section and has been an Associate Editor since 1961. His other duties have included Coverning Board Member, 1962-63, 1964-65; ACCS Scoretary, 1966-67; Chairman of the National Meeting Planning Committee, 1966-67; AOCS Affiliated Oil and Fats Section; International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry; National Research Council and many others. istry; National Research Council and many others.

S. S. Chang ('52), the incoming Vice-President, is a Professor at Rutgers, the State University, New Brunswick, New Jersey. He is listed in Who's Who in the East and Who's Who in American Education. He has received many awards including the Special Award, Potato Chip Institute International, 1965; the Pitman Food Award, 1966; and the ACCS Honorable Mention Bond Award, 1969; and 1969.

1962 and 1963.

Our new Secretary, Mrs. Lois S. Crauer ('52), is the first woman to be elected to this post. She is Chief Chemist with the De Laval Separator Company, Poughkeepsie, New York and she is the author of several technical papers. In addition, she has served on many committees for the

N. T. Joyner ('32) has been elected to serve his final term as Treasurer under the new AOCS Constitution. He



N. T. Joyner



R. R. Allen Member-at-Large



S. S. Chang



Mrs. Lois Crauer

is Executive Vice-President of Votator Division, the Chemtron Corporation, Louisville, Kentucky. Mr. Joyner has served AOCS in many capacities and his most recent assignment has been Chairman of the Finance Committee.

The three members-at-large elected to the Governing Board are R. R. Allen, R. T. Holman and F. A. Norris.

Dr. Allen ('50) is Director of Chemical Research, W. L.

Clayton Research Center, Anderson, Clayton & Company, Foods Division, Richardson, Texas. He is the author of numerous papers and patents on autoxidation, hydrogenation and food emulsifiers. He has been active on many AOCS committees, as well as lecturer on various topics at AOCS Short Courses.

Dr. Holman ('46) is Professor of Biochemistry at the Hormel Institute, University of Minnesota, Austin, Minnesota. He has served on many committees for the AOCS and has been on the Education Boards of the Journal of Lipid Research and the Journal of Nutrition. He is an Associate Editor of Lipids and has been Chairman of the Symposium on Mass Spectrometry, Cincinnati, 1965; the Symposium on Essential Fatty Acids in Honor of George O. Burr, Los Angeles, 1966; and Co-chairman of the Symposium on Mass Spectrometry, Chicago, 1967.

Dr. Norris ('42) is Assistant to the Director of Research Services, National Dairy Products Corporation, Glenview, Illinois. He was Board Member, North Central Section, 1961; Program Chairman, 1965–66; Secretary, 1966–67; Vice-President, 1967-68; and President, 1968-69. He was AOCS Program Chairman of the Chicago Fall Meeting, 1967 and served on many other committees.

Other Board Members (the four most recent past presidents of the AOCS) are J. C. Harris ('44), Monsanto Research Corporation, Dayton, Ohio; C. W. Hoerr ('43), Glidden-Durkee Division of SCM Corporation, Strongville, Ohio; R. R. Reiser ('46), Distinguished Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Texas A & M University, College Station, Texas; and J. C. Cowan ('41), Chief, Oilseed Laboratory, Northern Regional Research Laboratory, Peoria, Illinois.



R. T. Holman Member-at-Large



F. A. Norris Member-at-Large